Kihon translates to basic techniques, and is the foundation of all subsequent learning in karate. All students start karate by learning basic blocks, strikes, kicks and stances. Over time, these moves are practiced repeatedly so they become second nature and fluid. Kihon is taken very seriously and is taught very consistently in the dojo to ensure that correct technique is learned at the very beginning. Bad form in the basics leads to ineffective technique and injury, therefore much attention is given to correct kihon techniques throughout the curriculum. Through continual refinement, kihon becomes central to learning the kata and drills, and in depth study will lead to more advanced techniques

Kihon of arms. This set of six combinations is a simple conception, in a gradual transposition in terms of number of techniques and combinations, starting with a simple kihon and ending with a complex one. These kihons are in the mandatory exam curriculum until shodan.


Kihon number 1.

  1. Yoi dachi;
  2. Hidari zenkutsu dachi ghedan barai;
  3. Hidari kamae;
  4. Mighi zenkutsu dachi / Oi-tsuki chudan;
  5. Gyaku tsuki chudan;
  6. Aghe mae-empi-uchi jodan;
  7. Mighi kamae;


Kihon number 2

  1. Mighi kamae;
  2. Hidari zenkutsu dachi / Aghe uke;
  3. Gyaku tsuki chudan;
  4. Mawashi-empi-uchi jodan;
  5. Hidari kamae;


Kihon number 3

  1. Hidari kamae;
  2. Mighi zenkutsu dachi / uchi-uke;
  3. Yori ashi-zenkutsu dachi / kizami-tsuki jodan;
  4. Mighi zenkutsu dachi / gyaku-tsuki chudan;
  5. Mighi kamae;


Kihon number 4

  1. Mighi kamae;
  2. Hidari zenkutsu dachi / soto-uke;
  3. Gyaku tsuki chudan;
  4. Uraken-uchi jodan;
  5. Hidari kamae;

Kihon number 5

  1. Hidari kamae;
  2. Mighi zenkutsu dachi / soto-uke;
  3. Crossing in mighi kiba dachi / yoko empi-uchi jodan;
  4. Kiba dachi / uraken-uchi jodan;
  5. Return to mighi zenkutsu dachi / gyaku-tsuki chudan;
  6. Mighi kamae;


Kihon number 6

  1. Mighi kamae;
  2. Hidari kokutsu dachi / shuto-uke chudan;
  3. Ashi mae-geri chudan (sequential: reinforcement, technique and leg retraction);
  4. Hidari zenkutsu dachi / gyaku-yonhon nukite chudan;
  5. Shuto-uchi-gamma jodate;
  6. Gyaku shuto-uchi-mawashi jodan;
  7. Hidari kamae;
  8. Withdrawal in yoi dachi;